USA Hockey Announces Rosters for the Olympics

USA Hockey Announces Rosters for the Olympics

This is an entirely different dynamic with the N.H.L. choosing not to send players, as national federations couldn’t pick any player with an active NHL contract. The initial American roster includes the admittedly “semiretired” Gionta, three players from the A.H.L. in Bourque, Bobby Butler and John McCarthy, and 15 currently playing in leagues across Europe.

Gionta, 38, put up 588 points in 1,006 regular-season games over 15 N.H.L. seasons for the Devils, the Montreal Canadiens and Buffalo Sabres. He played for the U.S. at the 2006 Olympics and has been practicing with the A.H.L.’s Rochester Americans to stay in shape for Pyeongchang.

The United States women’s hockey team will be led by captain Meghan Duggan, one of six two-time silver medalists, on a roster that features four other silver medalists from 2014.

Forward Alex Carpenter and defenseman Megan Bozek are 2014 silver medalists who did not make the cut from the national team, which has been training since September in Florida.

Joining Duggan on a third Olympic roster are Kacey Bellamy, Hilary Knight, Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Monique Lamoureux-Morando and Gigi Marvin. Kendall Coyne, Lee Stecklein, Brianna Decker and Amanda Kessel made their second Olympic team.


Troy Terry, a forward for the University of Denver, is among four college players to be named to the U.S. Olympic men’s hockey team.

Chris O’Meara/Associated Press

Men’s Team

Goalies: Ryan Zapolski (Jokerit, Kontinental Hockey League)

Defensemen: Chad Billins (Linkoping, Swedish Hockey League); Jonathon Blum (Admiral Vladivostok, K.H.L.); Will Borgen (St. Cloud State); Matt Gilroy (Jokerit, K.H.L.); Ryan Gunderson (Brynas, S.H.L.); Bobby Sanguinetti (HC Lugano, Swiss National League); Noah Welch (Vaxjo Lakers, S.H.L.); James Wisniewski (Kassel Huskies, Deutsche Eishockey Liga)

Forwards: Mark Arcobello (SC Bern, Swiss National League); Chris Bourque (Hershey Bears, American Hockey League); Bobby Butler (Milwaukee Admirals, A.H.L.); Ryan Donato (Harvard); Brian Gionta (unsigned); Jordan Greenway (Boston University); Chad Kolarik (Adler Mannheim, Deutsche Eishockey Liga); Broc Little (HC Davos, Swiss National League); John McCarthy (San Jose Barracuda, A.H.L.); Brian O’Neill (Jokerit, K.H.L.); Garrett Roe (EV Zug, Swiss National League); Jim Slater (Fribourg-Gotteron, Swiss National League); Ryan Stoa (Spartak Moscow, K.H.L.); Troy Terry (University of Denver)


Cayla Barnes, left, 18, is the youngest member of the women’s team. Goalie Alex Rigsby, right, also made the squad.

John Woods/The Canadian Press, via Associated Press

Women’s Team

Goalies: Nicole Hensley (Lindenwood University); Alex Rigsby (Minnesota Whitecaps); Maddie Rooney (University of Minnesota-Duluth)

Defenders: Cayla Barnes (Boston College); Kacey Bellamy (Boston Pride, N.W.H.L.); Kali Flanagan (Boston College); Megan Keller (Boston College); Sidney Morin (MODO Hockey, Sweden); Emily Pfalzer (Buffalo Beauts, N.W.H.L.); Lee Stecklein (University of Minnesota)

Forwards: Hannah Brandt (Minnesota Whitecaps); Dani Cameranesi (University of Minnesota); Kendall Coyne (Minnesota Whitecaps); Brianna Decker (Boston Pride, N.W.H.L.); Meghan Duggan (Boston Pride, N.W.H.L); Amanda Kessel (New York Riveters, N.W.H.L.); Hilary Knight (Boston Pride, N.W.H.L.); Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson (Minnesota Whitecaps); Monique Lamoureux-Morando (Minnesota Whitecaps); Gigi Marvin (Boston Pride, N.W.H.L.); Kelly Pannek (University of Minnesota); Amanda Pelkey (Boston Pride, N.W.H.L.); Haley Skarupa (Boston Pride, N.W.H.L.)

Source link

About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: